/ Amethyst_Rose /

Amethyst Rose

Amethyst Rose will be Steve Savitzky's second audio CD, perhaps sometime in (I hope) 2008 2010. It is, among other things, a memorial and an exercise in healing, dedicated to my stillborn daughter Amethyst Rose, born August 4th, 1990. The songs are mostly about family, fantasy, dreams, and the passage of time.


1 Eyes Like the Morning (Savitzky)
2 The Stuff that Dreams are Made Of (Savitzky)
I wrote this for my father a few months before he died; he went to grad school with Isaac Asimov, and introduced me to folk music, computers and science fiction.
3 Bigger On The Inside (Savitzky)
4 Filksong Lullabye (Savitzky)
5 Daddy's World (Savitzky)
I wrote this one for my older daughter based mostly on some of her favorite computer games.
6 Emerald Dreams (Savitzky)
7 Keep the Dream Alive (Savitzky)
Written in 1986 shortly after the Challenger blew up on takeoff. Revised, unfortunately, for Columbia in 2003.
8 The Stolen Child (Yeats/Savitzky)
9 For Amy (Savitzky)
10 Rainbow's Edge (Savitzky)
11 Paper Wings (Savitzky)
12 The River (Savitzky)
13 Quiet Victories (Savitzky)

(Note that this is likely not to be the final list, let alone the final order; it will do for now. Suggestions are welcome. )


I always planned for this to be my second album. I originally thought I would have it finished by August, 2000, which would have been Amy's 10th birthday. After that passed with no sign even of a first album (Coffee, Computers, and Song), I started planning for 2006. Here it is, the eve of what would have been her seventeenth birthday, with CC&S still at the duplicator. Next year, perhaps.

Eventually there will be a list in the working directory, which will be the place to go for definitive, up-to-the-minute status.

There is a LiveJournal community (multi-user blog) devoted to discussion of my albums, but it's almost completely inactive at this point. You'll do better looking at selected articles in my own blog.